Ten year wait following death waived for Parks

Published 10:04 am Friday, December 16, 2005

By Staff
WASHINGTON, D.C. - Congressman Fred Upton (R-St. Joseph) has joined Congressman Bobby Rush (D-IL) in calling for a commemorative stamp to be issued by the U.S. Postal Service to honor the late Mother of the Civil Rights Movement, Mrs. Rosa Parks. Rush and Upton, with support from Reps. Joe Schwarz (R-MI) and John Conyers (D-MI), have introduced legislation to waive the 10 years required for an individual to be honored with a commemorative stamp. Over 130 Members of Congress have now co-sponsored the legislation, H.R. 4343.
Since 1967, the Post Office Department/US Postal Service has had a policy against honoring individuals before the 10th anniversary of their death. The only exception to this rule is former U.S. Presidents, who are honored with a commemorative stamp on the first birthday after their death. The last time the House acted on a bill directing the issuance of a commemorative stamp (similar to H.R. 4343, the Rosa Parks stamp bill) was in 1948. That stamp honored Moina Michael, a woman who had been involved in World War I veteran's issues.
On Nov. 2, at the request of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Upton had the great honor to lead the bipartisan House delegation to Mrs. Rosa Parks' funeral.