Local athletes take part in 2005 Sports Fest

Published 4:35 am Wednesday, June 8, 2005

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Niles Daily Star
NILES - Niles baseball coach Mike Vota will lead the Michigan All-Stars into 2005 Sports Fest competition beginning with opening ceremonies on June 19 at Bethel College in Mishawaka, Ind.
The squad will consist of Brandywine's Kory Bridges and Josh Atwood, Niles' Matt Richardson and Cory Coquillard and Edwardsburg's Zac Rooney and Jesse Johnson.
First round games will be held on Monday and Tuesday, June 20-21 with the championship game set for Thursday, June 23.
Underclassmen who were selected for the squad are not allowed to participate.
Here is the complete Michigan All-Star roster:
Derek Bross (St. Joseph), Kory Bridges (Brandywine), Brian Rogers (Coloma), Matt Richardson (Niles), Zac Rooney (Edwardsburg), Cory Coquillard (Niles), Cody Lovell (St. Joseph), Josh Atwood (Brandywine), Jesse Johnson (Edwardsburg), Zach Gentile (Sturgis), R.J. Schebel (Michigan Lutheran), Phil Halamka (Watervliet), Mike Dalrymple (Lakeshore), Ian Fox (Lakeshore), Paul Bell (St. Joseph)
Shelby Wood (Berrien Springs), Bo Felt (Sturgis)
Mike Vota, Niles
Basketball All-Stars team
Benton Harbor's Wilson Chandler, who was named the 2005 Mr. Basketball, will lead the Michigan All-Stars into action in the 2005 Sports Fest, which will be held June 19-24 in South Bend and Mishawaka, Ind.
Also named to the squad are Cassopolis' Kevin Luckey, Edwardsburg's Nick Roth and Buchanan's Gordon Bryant and Tony Robinson.
The team will be coached by Benton Harbor's Ramsey Nichols.
First round games will be held at Bethel College in Mishawaka on Wednesday, June 22 with the championship game set for Friday, June 24.
Here is the complete list of this year's squad:
Gordon Bryant (Buchanan), Kevin Luckey (Cassopolis), Milo Jeffries (Coloma), Nick Roth (Edwardsburg), Ricky Plotts (Marcellus), Rodney Alexander (Benton Harbor), Simon Cholometes (White Pigeon), Tony Robinson (Buchanan), Tyler Weaver (Bridgman), Wilson Chandler (Benton Harbor)
Ramsey Nichols (Benton Harbor) 
Girls soccer team
Dowagiac and Niles will be well represented when the 2005 Sports Fest begins with opening ceremonies at Coveleski Stadium in South Bend, Ind. June 19.
Sports Fest, sponsored by the South Bend Tribune and WSBT, will run through June 24 at Bethel College in Mishawaka, Ind.
The girls' soccer squad will consist of Kyleigh Mott and Hillary Bisnett of Dowagiac and Niles' Amber Peters, Ashley Pingel and Kaylee Bonner.
Also on the squad will be Edwardsburg's Sara Lange.
First round matches will be held on Tuesday, June 21 with the championship match set for Thursday, June 23.
Here is the complete Michigan All-Star roster:
Amber Peters (Niles), Kaitlyn Becker (St. Joseph), Mary Schueneman (St. Joseph), Mallory Smith (St. Joseph), Hannah Darnton (St. Joseph), Hillary Bisnet (Dowagiac), Kyleigh Mott (Dowagiac), Jackie Schaeffer (Sturgis), Sara Dresser (Sturgis), Joey Maher (Lake Michigan Catholic), Stacy Evans (Lakeshore), Shelby Steib (Lakeshore), Aylssa O'Dorisio (Lakeshore), Leanna Rice (Bridgman), Ashley Miller (Bridgman), Ashley Pingel (Niles), Kaylee Bonner (Niles), Sara Lange (Edwardsburg)
Steve Lohrke (St. Joseph)
Softball team
District softball champions Brandywine and Dowagiac will lead the Michigan All-Stars into action at the 2005 Sports Fest, June 20-24 at Bethel College in Mishawaka, Ind.
Opening ceremonies will be held at Coveleski Regional Stadium in South Bend, Ind, June 19.
Dee Echevarria, Ashley Antus and Amanda Grice of Brandywine, along with Dowagiac's Brittney Reist and Mandy Parish will lead the All-Stars into first round action on Monday, June 20 and Tuesday, June 22. The championship game is set for Thursday, June 23.
Brittney Reist (Dowagiac), Helena Zandarski (Coloma), Dee Echevarria (Brandywine), Mandy Parish (Dowagiac), Samantha Fritsche (Edwardsburg), Amanda Grice (Brandywine), Mandi Rodriguez (St. Joseph), Kelli Kretchman (Edwardsburg), Ashley Antus (Brandywine), Stacey Jones (Lakeshore), Kathryn Allen (Lake Michigan Catholic), Britany Spencer (Watervliet), Ashley Mannino (Coloma), Caitlin Slevin (Lakeshore)
Lauren Castonguay (Lakeshore), Kelli Zache (Brandywine), Monica Gathright (Lakeshore), Jamie Hartmann (Watervliet), Sarah Sheffer (Watervliet), Erika Scheffler (Michigan Lutheran)
Denny Dock (Lakeshore)
Volleyball team
Lakeland Conference runner up Brandywine will head the list of Michigan All-Star at Sports Fest 2005.
Lady Bobcats Katie Tuohy and Emily Whitney will be joined by eight other players when competion begins at Bethel College in Mishawaka, Ind. on Monday, June 20.
The championship match will held on Thursday, June 23.
Also on this year's squad, will be Notre Dame-bound Madison Clark of Sturgis.
Von Metzger of Sturgis will coach the squad.
Here is the complete list of Michigan All-Stars:
Alycia Davenport (Three Rivers), Chelsea Knauf (Lakeshore), Emily Whitney (Brandywine), Jamie McIver (Lakeshore), Kachina Blackamore (Coloma), Katie Tuohy (Brandywine), Kim Gear (Watervliet), Madison Clark (Sturgis), Melissa Blake (St. Joseph), Michelle Forbes (Sturgis)
Von Metzger (Sturgis)
Buchanan boys' tennis coach Steve Bender lobbied for his sport to be included in Sports Fest.
This year Bender got his wish and he will coach the Michigan All-Stars in competition beginning June 21 at Bethel College.
The boys' and girls' championship matches will be held on June 24.
Buchanan's Korey Camp and Edwardsburg's Matt Horvath will be two of seven seniors and two underclassmen selected for the squad.
Underclassmen are not allowed to compete.
Here is a complete list of the Michigan All-Stars.
Korey Camp (Buchanan), Danny Brash (St. Joseph), Cory Hafer (St. Joseph), Andrew Lewis (Berrien Springs), Mike Dennison (St. Joseph), Aaron Sable (Sturgis), Matt Horvath (Edwardsburg)
Steve Bender (Buchanan)