Buchanan wins league tourney

Published 12:49 pm Monday, February 21, 2005

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Vigilant/Argus
BERRIEN SPRINGS - For the first time in 33 years, the Buchanan Bucks can call themselves Lakeland Conference champions in wrestling.
The Bucks earned a share of the league championship with Coloma after winning the league tournament Saturday in Berrien Springs.
Buchanan edged Coloma 145-140 in the league tournament. River Valley was a distant third with 107 points, while Edwardsburg (104), Cassopolis (98.5), Berrien Springs (86.5) and Brandywine (71) rounded out the order of finish.
Cassopolis had two champions and Edwardsburg one on Saturday.
Justin Tucker won the 135-pound title with an 8-4 decision over River Valley's Mike Stein.
John McCoy won the 140-pound championship with a 20-11 victory over Coloma's Jeremy Ashley.
Finishing second for the Rangers were Zach Duebner at 130, Kenny Brown at 145, Randy Hemminger at 152 and Joey Sobieski at 160.
Edwardsburg's Matt Peters defeated Duebner to win the 130-pound title with a pin in 5:56.
Andy Breslin finished second at 125-pounds for the Eddies.
Zach Wilfert finished third at 112, Trevor Hack was third at 145 and Jim Fein finished third at 189.
Alex Hall, Bill Miller and Joe White all finished fourth at 140-, 171- and 215-pounds.
Team Results
Buchanan 145, Coloma 140, River Valley 107, Edwardsburg 104, Cassopolis 98.5 , Berrien Springs 86.5, Brandywine 71.
Championship Round
103: John Stein (RV) d. Todd Taylor (BU), 4-0
112: Zach Gordon (BS) p. Kyle Gordon (RV), 3:48
119: Nick Wheetley (BU) t.f. Pat VanLaere (BW), 15-0
125: Travis Reith (BU) p. Andy Breslin (E), 5:46
130: Matt Peters (E) p. Zach Deubner (CA), 5:56
135: Justin Tucker (CA) d, Mike Stein (RV), 8-4
140: John McCoy (CA) d. over Jeremy Ashley (C0), 20-11
145: Peter Wyman (BS) beat Kenny Brown (CA), 13-6
152: Lequae Caldwell (CO) d. over Randy Hemminger (CA), 11-2
160: C.J. Myers (CO) p. Joey Sobieski (CA), 1:56
171: Darius Whitehead (BS) d. Ryan Harrington (BU), 7-3
189: Jim Conners (BU) d. Tim Morrissey (RV), 7-5
215: Jesse Martin (CO) t.f Zak Kacmar (RV), 19-4
275: Ryan Carrigan (BU) p. Todd Smith (CO), 1:39
Consolation Round
103: Jordan Muenchow (CO) won by forfeit
112: Zach Wilfer (E) p. David Knisley (BU), 1:27
119: Cody Davis (BS) p. Ryan Narregan (RV), 3:47
125: Anthony Moore (CO) p. Adam Saltsman (BW), 0:37
130: Justin Bussing (CO) won by forfeit
135: Kyle Froehlich (BS) d. Kyle Perry (BW), 4-2
140: Dave Medlin (BU) d. Alex Hall (E), 9-1
145: Trevor Hack (E) p. Dan Toth (BU), 3:27
152: Joel Perry (BW) d. A.J. Long (BU), 10-6
160: Dustin Smith (RV) p. Eugene Miller (BW), 4:45
171: Greg Akre (CO) d. Bill Miller (E), 7-4
189: Jim Fein (E) p. Nate Schemenauer (CO), 1:38
215: Jeremy Hecht (BW) p. Joe White (E), 1:47
275: Mike Creekmore (RV) p. Jeremy Howell (BW), 2:10
Final conference standings
1. Buchanan and Coloma, 3. River Valley, 4. Cassopolis, 5. Edwardsburg, 6. Brandywine, 7. Berrien Springs
Final dual meet
conference records
1. Coloma 6-0, 2. Buchanan 5-1, 3. River Valley 4-2, 4. Cassopolis 3-3, 5. Brandywine 2-4, 6. Edwardsburg 1-5, 7. Berrien Springs 0-6