Poehlman, Henry bring home Southwestern Michigan Wrestling Tournament titles

Published 2:34 pm Monday, January 31, 2005

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Niles Daily Star
STEVENSVILLE - Host Lakeshore continued to dominate the Southwestern Michigan Wrestling Tournament.
The Lancers won the team title for the fourth straight year, easily defeating runner-up Niles.
Lakeshore finished with 218.5 points, while Niles was second with 187 points and South Haven third with 186.
Dowagiac and Cassopolis rounded out the Top 5 with 175.5 and 134 points respectively.
Niles finished with a pair of champions at Matt Poehlman remained undefeated at 119-pounds with his 10-7 over arch rival Justin Agens of Lakeshore.
Josh Henry brought home the other championship at he pinned Watervliet's Ben Isbrecht in 5:13 of the 189-pound championship.
Finishing second for the Vikings was Mason Stephenson at 125-pounds. Stephenson was pinned by South Haven's Brad Keeny in 4:28.
Jake Glueckert was third at 103-pounds as he decisioned Adam Bastow of South Haven, 6-1. Bryce Flannery was third at 112-pounds as he decisioned Chris Smith of Watervliet, 7-6.
Todd Scansen also finished third as he decisioned Dowagiac's Mike Kasper at 140-pounds, 10-3. Robert Cinninger was third at 152-pounds as he decisioned Kameron Morris of Watervliet, 10-9.
Rob Leneway finished fourth at 135-pound as he lost to Drew Welke of Lakeshore, 18-4. Joe Ealy was fourth at 215-pounds as he was pinned by River Valley's Zak Kacmar in 2:26.
Brandywine's Adam Simons finished fourth at 189-pounds as he was pinned by Adam Miller of Lakeshore in 1:34. Brandywine's Pat Van Laere was fourth at 119-pounds as he was pinned by Buchanan's Travis Reith in 3:15.
Buchanan's Ryan Carrigan finished second at 275-pounds after being defeated by Dowagiac's Tony Stewart in the finals, 3-2.
Buchanan's Nick Wheetley finished fourth at 125-pounds as he was pinned by Lakeshore's Alex Bolt in 2:06.
Winning championships on Saturday were Lakeshore's Brad Barker at 103-pounds, Lakeshore's Kyle Hammermeister at 112-pounds, Poehlman at 119-pounds, South Haven's brad Keeny at 125-pounds, Cassopolis' Zach Duebner at 130-pounds, River Valley's Mike Stein at 135-pounds, Cassopolis' John McCoy at 140-pounds, Dowagiac's Jeromy Northrop at 145-pounds and Bangor's Darrick Parker at 152-pounds.
Winning at 160-pounds was Drakkar Klose of South Haven, Lakeshore's Matt Wittmann at 171-pounds, Henry at 189-pounds, Coloma's Jesse Martin at 215-pounds and Stewart at 275-pounds.
Team scores
Lakeshore 218.5, Niles 187, South Haven 186, Dowagiac 175.5, Cassopolis 134, River Valley 125, Bangor 110, Buchanan 93, Watervliet 85.5, Coloma 79.5, Benton Harbor 57, Brandywine 49, Lawton 47, Hartford 30, Covert 7.
Championship round
103: Brad Barker (L) p. John Stein (RV), 5:02
112: Kyle Hammermeister (L) p. Tyler Dotson (SH), 2:26
119: Matt Poehlman (N) d. Justin Agens (L), 10-7
125: Brad Keeny (SH) p. Mason Stephenson (N), 4:28
130: Zach Deubner (C) p. Jason Krukowski (D), 1:59
135: Mike Stein (RV) p. Justin Tucker (C), 4:48
140: John McCoy (C) d. Michael Jackson (SH), 8-1
145: Jeromy Northrop (D) d. Jeremy Ashley (C), 7-5
152: Darrick Parker (BA) d. Kameron Jackson (SH), 14-6
160: Drakkar Klose (SH) d. Andy Gebhard (L), 3-2
171: Matt Wittmann (L) t.f. Kyle Bennett (D), 21-6
189: Josh Henry (N) p. Ben Isbrecht (W), 5:13
215: Jesse Martin (C.) d. Matt Behnke (D), 18-6
275: Tony Stewart (D) d. Ryan Carrigan (BU), 3-2