Eddies just miss qualifying

Published 10:27 am Thursday, October 14, 2004

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Vigilant/Argus
SOUTH BEND, Ind. - Everyone knew it was going to be close, but a three-way tie for the Division 4 regional championship?
That's what happened Thursday afternoon at Leeper Park as Dowagiac, Brandywine and Buchanan shared the regional championship and advanced to the Division 4 state finals next weekend in Grand Rapids.
In a four-way battle for the regional crown, Dowagiac, Brandywine and Buchanan tied with 23 points.
Edwardsburg finished with 17 points, just missing out on qualifying for the state meet.
It was Dowagiac's first-ever regional championship and for the first time in school history, it will send a team to the state finals.
On its way to winning the title, Dowagiac swept the singles flights.
Juniors Lisa Rubino, Barbara Laing and Anne O'Keefe, along with senior Ashley Urbanski, all captured regional championships.
Dowagiac came in with a plan and worked it to perfection.
The Chieftains wanted to get at least seven points out of its doubles teams and then get all four singles players into the finals.
All four doubles flights did their job winning first round matches.
Amelia First and Taylor Townsend, Calie Daniels and Lindsay Tyler, Kim Rutkowski and Ashley Smith, and Kelli Schause and Kayleigh Sundman then played tough in the semifinals before falling.
Dowagiac then needed to get its four seeded singles players into the finals, which they did.
The Division 4 state finals will be held on Friday, Oct. 15 and Saturday, Oct. 16 at Grand Rapids Christian High School.
Buchanan won three out of the four doubles flights to earn its piece of the championship. Brandywine's lone title came at No. 3 doubles.
Division 4 Regional Tournament
At Leeper Park, South Bend, Ind.
Team results
Dowagiac 23, Brandywine 23, Buchanan 23, Edwardsburg 17, Constantine 6, Eau Claire 5, Lake Michigan Catholic 3, Bridgman 2, Cassopolis 1, Coloma 1
Championship round
1. Lisa Rubino (D) d. Ashley Shepherd (BU) 6-3, 6-3; 2. Barbara Laing (D) d. Jaclyn Mummaw (BU) 6-4, 6-1; 3. Ashley Urbanski (D) d. Amy Konopinski (BW) 6-1, 6-1; 4. Anne O'Keefe (D) d. Amber Vanlentine (BW) 6-4, 6-2
1. Tracy Brelowski/Lizzy Thornton (BU) d. Bethany Daniel/Christine Dvorak (BW) 4-6, 6-1, 6-3; 2. Hannah Flood/Nicole Moyer (BU) d. Lisa Konopinski/Kristen Peters (BW) 6-2, 2-6, 6-1; 3. Nikki Cooper/Courtney Schlutt (BW) d. Bethany Marshke/Aly Weir (E) 6-4, 6-1; 4. Leslie Niemier/Robin Bahr (BU) d. Ashley Valentine/Jamie Bartuska (BW) 6-3, 6-3
Coach of the Year: Joe Marazita (Brandywine)