Little League District 15 tourney under way

Published 8:15 am Thursday, July 8, 2004

By Staff
Michigan District 15 tournament action got under way on Monday with five Little League Softball contests.
The Little League Softball Division, for ages 11-12, opened up play Monday night with Coloma defeating Dowagiac, 17-2.
In other action: Schoolcraft defeated Three Rivers, 9-3; Centreville defeated Vicksburg, 16-6; Coldwater defeated Decatur, 20-10; and Mendon defeated Constantine, 20-1.
Schoolcraft now advances to face Mattawan tonight at 6 in Vicksburg, while Lawton will take on Coloma in Dowagiac at 6. Centreville and Coldwater will square off in Mattawan at 6 p.m., while Marcellus will face Mendon in Mattawan also at 6.
Dowagiac will face the loser of the Mendon/Marcellus game on July 7 in Mendon at 6 p.m.
On Tuesday night, the Niles F.O.P. All-Stars defeated Dowagiac 17-2 at Three Rivers in Little League Baseball Division (11-12 year-olds) play.
In other action, South Haven blanked Cassopolis at Russom Field, 10-0.
For complete scores from Tuesday's games, check out the District 15 website at
The District 15 Junior and Senior Softball Divisions are scheduled to get under way later this month.
The Junior Division will begin play July 12 and July 13.
In the opening round, Dowagiac will face Vicksburg in Mattawan on July 12 at 6 p.m.
The remaining games will be played on July 13 at Centreville, Vicksburg and Constantine.
Cassopolis will face Centreville in Constantine at 6 p.m., while Constantine will face the Coloma/Three Rivers winner in Centreville at 6.
In the other first round contest, Marcellus will face the Mattawan/Decatur winner in Vicksburg at 6 p.m.
The semifinals will be played in Constantine and Mattawan on July 14. The finals are set for Three Rivers on July 16 at 6.
Dowagiac will play Constantine in Mattawan on July 16 at 10 a.m. in the Senior Division opening round.
The winner advances to face Vicksburg in Mattawan on July 17 at 1 p.m.
The loser will take on Mattawan in Mattawan on July 18 at 1 p.m.
The championship game will also be held in Mattawan on July 19 at 6 p.m.