Lakeland names volleyball team

Published 6:09 am Friday, March 12, 2004

By By SCOTT NOVAK / Vigilant/Argus
The Lakeland Conference All-League volleyball team has been selected by the conference coaches.
Named to the first team were Katie Williamson and Lindsey Davis of Berrien Springs, Emily Whitney of Brandywine, Ashlee Layher of Buchanan, Diane Mitchell and Ann Balsis of Coloma and Kate Habicht of Edwardsburg. Berrien Springs' Dawn Knutt was named Coach of the Year.
Coloma captured the Lakeland Conference championship as well as the season-ending tournament title.
First Team
Katie Mitchell – Berrien Springs
Lindsey Davis – Berrien Springs
Emily Whitney – Brandywine
Ashlee Layher – Buchanan
Diane Mitchell – Coloma
Ann Balsis – Coloma
Kate Habicht – Edwardsburg
Second team
Ashley Pagel – Berrien Springs
Katie Touhy – Brandywine
Nikki Cooper – Brandywine
Jenny Malm – Bridgman
Hannah Barrett – Coloma
Jessica Rafalski – Edwardsburg
Megan Koebel – River Valley
Noelle Dryden – River Valley
Honorable Mention
Christine Drach – Berrien Springs
Nikki McGowen – Brandywine
Ali Bender – Buchanan
Sarah Lange – Edwardsburg
Janet Markunas – River Valley