Amy Brown new teacher in Niles

Published 2:04 pm Tuesday, August 26, 2003

By Staff
Niles Community Schools is welcoming 32 new teachers and counselors to the district this year. This continues a series of profiles introducing new teachers to the Niles community.
How many years of teaching experience do you have?
I am a recent graduate.
Where do you come from and where have you taught in the past?
I am from Niles. I did my student teaching at Edwardsburg High School and Howard Elementary School
Where did you get your teachers' education?
Indiana University South Bend, Ind.
What will you teach at Niles Community Schools?
I will teach special education.
Why did you choose to teach in this school district?
I chose to teach in Niles because I feel that I received a good education from Niles and I hope to give back some of the educational values that I was taught by an excellent school system.
Do you have family in the area?
Yes, I have family in the area. My mother, father and brother live in Niles.
What are you looking forward to as a new teacher in this school district?
I am looking forward to meeting and getting to know my students. I also look forward to meeting new people I will be working with at Niles.
What did you know about the area before you came here?
I have lived in Niles my entire life. I attended Oak Manor, Ring Lardner Middle School and graduated from Niles High School. I feel that Niles is a close community.
What do you know about the school district?
I feel that the school district prides themselves with making sure students receive the best education, and everyone works really well together. They have excellent teachers, administration and staff.
How did you become interested in teaching?
I became interested in teaching because I enjoy working with young adults.
What is your family background?
My mother graduated from Niles and my father graduated from Berrien Springs High School. My mother and father currently lives in Niles.
What are some of your hobbies?
I enjoy reading, scrapbooking, spending time with family and friend and working out.