Archived Story

Niles duo first team All-Big 16 West

Published 8:49am Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Connor Glick and Tate Brawley were named to the first team of the Big 16 All-West Division baseball team.

West Division champion Portage Northern dominated the team with four first-team selections. St. Joseph and Portage Central, which finished second and third in the final standings, each had three first-team picks.

The Vikings also had Taylor Weldy, Jordan Ham and Tyler Clutter named to the honorable mention portion of the team.

Glick hit .477 in league games with seven doubles, a triple, a home run and 12 RBIs for the Vikings, who captured their first district championship since 2011 on Saturday.

Brawley hit .459 against league opponents with four doubles, two triples, a home run and eight RBIs

On the mound he was 5-1 with an ERA of 1.94. He struck out 57 and walked just four batters in 36 innings of work.



First team

Connor Glick – Niles

Tate Brawley – Niles

Jordyn Muffley – Portage Central

Ryan Mergener – Portage Central

Austin Wills – Portage Central

A.J. Montoya – St. Joseph

Matt Peirce – St. Joseph

Joe Fratzke – St. Joseph

Jacob Gividen – Portage Northern

Max Schuemann – Portage Northern

Tommy Henry – Portage Northern

Austin Pratt – Portage Northern

Joey Nate – Lakeshore

Zach Schultz – Lakeshore

Eric Schmidt – Lakeshore

Eugene Roberts – Kalamazoo Central

Wyatt Morrison – Kalamazoo Central

C.J. Huntley – Mattawan

Mitchell Dundore – Mattawan

Willie Wilson – Benton Harbor


Honorable mention

Taylor Weldy – Niles

Jordan Ham – Niles

Tyler Clutter – Niles

Luke Schaefer – Portage Central

Travis Wilkinson – Portage Central

Brett Bashaw – Portage Central

Mickey Losey – Portage Central

Lorenzo Ivens – Portage Northern

Andrew Stone – Portage Northern

Ben Keizer – Portage Northern

Blake Therrian – Portage Northern

Brock Emery – Lakeshore

Dennis Jordan – Lakeshore

Kyle DeYoung – Kalamazoo Central

Jake Rouse – Kalamazoo Central

Evan Koning – Mattawan

Tyler Dundore – Mattawan

Joey Knapp – Mattawan

Chase Nicholes – Mattawan

Curtis Doughty – Benton Harbor

Mike Jones – Benton Harbor

Knoxelle Pratt – Benton Harbor


Finals Standings

Portage Northern 11-3

St. Joseph 10-4

Portage Central 9-5

Mattawan 8-5

Niles 8-6

Lakeshore 6-8

Kalamazoo Central 5-8

Benton Harbor 0-14

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks