Allison Hayes (left) and Van Johnson (right) blank the boys and girls All-Sports Award winners Austin Broda and Amanda Craft. (Leader photo/SCOTT NOVAK)
Allison Hayes (left) and Van Johnson (right) blank the boys and girls All-Sports Award winners Austin Broda and Amanda Craft. (Leader photo/SCOTT NOVAK)

Archived Story

Craft, Broda win All-Sports Award

Published 12:42pm Monday, June 2, 2014

Seniors Amanda Craft and Austin Broda have been named girls and boys all-sports winners at the 65th annual Dowagiac Athletic Booster Club All-Sports Reception Thursday night.

Craft and Broda were both multiple winners at the Dowagiac Middle School.

Craft also won the cheerleading award and received a Chieftain Golf Outing Scholarship, while Broda shared the varsity football award with Carl Grant and was received the Dick Dorgan Memorial Scholarship.

Broda led the Class of 2014 as valedictorian Sunday afternoon at Chris Taylor-Alumni Field.

Former Dowagiac golf coach Van Johnson served as the principal speaker. Johnson was recently inducted into the Michigan Intercollegiate Golf Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

Former Fox 28 sportscaster and current Big Ten Network sideline reporter Allison Hayes served as mistress of ceremonies.

Prior to the awarding of the trophies, 2013 All-Sports winners Dontel Highsmith and Kristyn Turner were introduced and gave an update on their freshmen year at Northern Illinois and Central Michigan respectively.


Here is a list of the All-Sports winners:


JV baseball – Collin Hassle

Varsity baseball – Dean Klann

JV boys basketball – Deyonte Sullivan

Varsity boys basketball – Kyle Solloway

JV girls basketball – Asryia Geegan

Varsity girls basketball – Riley Daly

Varsity cheerleading – Amanda Craft

Competitive cheer – Shyasia Cook

Boys cross country – Deyonte Sullivan

Girls cross country – Jennifer Schaus

Girls track – Crieona Rodgers

Boys back – Kyle Solloway

Boys soccer – Jorge Ruiz

JV wrestling – Kaleb Detwiller

Varsity wrestling – Tristan Howard

JV football – Collin Dussel

Varsity football – Austin Broda, Carl Grant

JV boys golf – Gregor Heilborn

Varsity golf – Christian Hess, Jordan Hagemann

Girls varsity golf – Madison Proshwitz

Girls soccer – Christina Preston

JV softball – Megan Soderbloom

Varsity softball – Kourtney Mitchell

JV girls tennis – Hailee Green

Varsity tennis girls – Madison Proshwitz

Varsity boys tennis – Vaughn Herter

JV volleyball – Anne Zebell

Varsity volleyball – Amanda Badner, Gabby Leonard


Scholarships and special awards

Leon Dodd Commemorative Award – Nick Theilmann

Larry Cox Memorial Scholarship – Hazel Kennedy

Bryan Frazier Memorial Scholarship – Dean Klann

Dick Dorgan Memorial Scholarship – Austin Broda

Chieftain Golf Outing Scholarship – Christina Preston, Sarah Long, Katie Proshwitz, Amanda Craft, Lucas Petro

Fall Sportsmanship Award (underclassmen) – Mack Charles, Ellen Cox

Winter Sportsmanship Award (underclassmen) – Zach Davis, Asryia Geegan

Spring Sportsmanship Award (underclassmen) – Austin Jones, Marissa Dodd

Outstanding Freshman Male – Shawk Sirk

Outstanding Freshman Female – Taylor Hulett

Girls All-Sports Award – Amanda Craft

Boys All-Sports Award – Austin Broda


By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks