Archived Story

Dowagiac students awarded for success

Published 8:00am Tuesday, May 27, 2014

A number of graduating seniors at Dowagaic Union High School were awarded scholarships at a banquet last week. Students awarded were as follows:


• Academic Awards of Excellence: Morgan Adams, Gabrielle Leonard, Austin Broda, Lucas Petro, Blake Bundy, Thomas Preston, Brad Bundy, Mackenzie Ruff

• Dowagiac Education Association Scholarships: Austin Broda, Dean Klann

Dowagiac Lions Club Scholarship: Austin Broda

• Sister Lakes Lady Lions Club Scholarship: Microslava Cruz-Cordero

Elks Most Valuable Student Scholarship: Austin Broda

Dowagiac Rotary Club Scholarship: Morgan Adams

Peninsular Lodge #10 F. & A.M. Scholarships:  Heather Montgomery, Jennifer Schaus

Kenneth Dehring Memorial Scholarship: Aaron Adams

Toni Shaer Memorial Scholarship: Heather Montgomery

Steven Briegel Memorial Scholarship: Jennifer Schaus

Kameron Belew Memorial Scholarships: Nicholas Bogen, Heather Montgomery, Julia Ferrier, Lucas Petro, Brody Froehlich

John Tuka/Tony Krukowski Memorial Scholarship: Laura Larson

Ron Latourette Memorial Scholarship: Austin Broda

Rebecca Walker Memorial Scholarships: Andrea Hatter, Heather Montgomery

• Craig Behnke Memorial Scholarship: Morgan Adams

• Cass County Community Policing Scholarship: Morgan Adams

Sodexo Services Scholarships: Brianna McCuddy, Michaela Owen, Heather Montgomery, Mackenzie Whitmyer

Burger King McLamore Foundation Scholarship: Morgan Adams

Greater Niles Community Federal Credit Union Scholarship: Austin Broda

Berrien County Farm Bureau Oil Company Annual Scholarship Award: Mackenzie Whitmyer

•Peter T. Swallow Founders Education Fund Scholarship Award: Isabel Vazquez

LADD, Inc Scholarships: Austin Broda, Mackenzie Ruff

Miss Dowagiac Scholarships: Mackenzie Whitmyer – Miss Dowagiac,  Mackenzie Ruff – 1st Runner Up, Paige Charles – 2nd Runner-Up, Isabel Vazquez – Miss Congeniality, Candious Clabin – Communications Award

Co-op of the Year Award/Breaking Tradition Award: Misty Bannow

National Technical Honor Society Career Awards: Triston Jiles, Thomas Preston,  Heather Montgomery

Technology Student of the Year Award: Patrick Armstrong

Cadet Teacher Award: Heather Montgomery

Construction Trades Awards: Leonel Brito, Daniel Moreno

Emergency Medical Technician Award: Carolina Moreno

Outstanding Career Technical Education Award: Nicholas Thielmann

• ETS Spotlight Scholarships: Brianna McCuddy, Perla Perez

Michigan College Access Programs & Personnel Foundation Scholarship: Morgan Adams

University of Michigan Competitive Edge Scholarships: Austin Broda, Mackenzie Ruff

Presidential Scholarship: Morgan Adams

Southwestern Michigan College Awards of Distinction: Blake Bundy, Thomas Preston, Brad Bundy

Southwestern Michigan College Awards of Excellence: Courtney Hunsberger, Nattalee Smith, Perla Perez

Southwestern Michigan College Honors Scholarships: Aaron Adams, Brianna McCuddy, Brody Froehlich

Southwestern Michigan College Talent Scholarships: Morgan Adams,  Jennifer Schaus

•Southwestern Michigan College Early College Scholarship Awards: Aaron Adams, Perla Perez, Morgan Adams, Thomas Preston, Brianna McCuddy

Southwestern Michigan College Outside Scholarship: Taylor McMeeken

• Lake Michigan College Board of Trustees and the Winner Circle Scholarship: Christina Preston

Lake Michigan College Redhawk Scholarship: Crystal Murray

University of Northwestern Ohio Senior Technical Scholarship: Nathan Stewart

Northern Michigan University Success Award: Heather Montgomery

Baker College Scholarship Award: Kenneth Creameans

Central Michigan University Academic Success Award: Nicholas Bogen

Saginaw Valley State University Dean’s Scholarship: Nicole Irwin

Eastern Michigan University Education First Opportunity Scholarship: Andrea Hatter

Northwest Nazarene University Dean’s Scholarship and Engineering Scholarship: Gabrielle Leonard

University of Arizona Excellence Award: Lucas Petro

Trine University Dean’s Scholarship and Trine Opportunity Scholarship: Dean Klann

Michigan Army National Guard Award: Triston Jiles

US Army National Scholar/Athlete Awards: Amanda Craft, Brody Froehlich

Montgomery GI Bill and the Air Force Tuition Assistance Scholarship: Pre’yshia Sims

United States Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award: Brad Bundy

United States Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Awards: Hazel Kennedy, Dean Klann

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks