Beth Cripe, volunteer coordinator); and Martha Cox, Gold Level Presidential Service Award recipient. (Submitted photo)
Beth Cripe, volunteer coordinator); and Martha Cox, Gold Level Presidential Service Award recipient. (Submitted photo)

Archived Story

Volunteers honored at Borgess-Lee Hospital

Published 9:06pm Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Borgess-Lee Memorial Hospital honored its volunteers during the hospital’s annual Volunteer Recognition Luncheon earlier this month.

Most of the 36 active health ministry volunteers were on hand during the luncheon.  They were welcomed by John Ryder, chief operating officer of  Borgess-Lee Memorial Hospital, and Beth Cripe, volunteer coordinator at Borgess-Lee.

During the 2013 calendar year, the volunteers donated over 3,600 hours of service to the hospital in such areas as the Surgery/SCU waiting room, Oncology Department, the lobby desk, making cookies for bake sales and ordering merchandise for the Borgess-Lee gift shop.

“Our mission to commitment of providing holistic, spiritually centered care could not be accomplished without these volunteers,” Ryder said.  “They are fully committed to serving our patients as partners in health for their life’s journey. We are grateful for their commitment and we thank them for connecting with all who walk through our doors to foster an environment for better healing.”

Two volunteers qualified for medals from the President’s Volunteer Service Award.

Martha Cox received the Gold Medal (500 hours or more) for 500 hours of service donated to Borgess-Lee.

Pam Karasek was honored with the Silver Medal (249 to 499) for giving more than 250 hours of service to the hospital.

Both Presidential Award winners received a lapel pin, a personalized certificate and a congratulatory letter signed by President Barack Obama.

Martha Cox also received her 500-hour pin for her 500 hours of service to Borgess-Lee.

Her name is being engraved on a plaque and will be displayed in the hospital entrance.  Other top volunteer contributors at Borgess-Lee who were honored were Peggy Barkes with 453 hours, Bernie Laymon with 425 hours, Barb Moses with 252 hours, and Ann Biek with 232 hours.

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks