Archived Story

101 schools win one or more state titles

Published 2:06pm Monday, July 1, 2013

EAST LANSING — A total of 101 schools won one or more of the 127 team finals championships awarded by the Michigan High School Athletic Association during the 2012-13 school year – with six programs winning the first MHSAA team titles in any sport for their respective schools.

The Manchester girls basketball, Jackson Northwest girls bowling, Portland football, Harbor Beach football, Deckerville football and Hamtramck Frontier International boys soccer teams brought home the first MHSAA team championships in their schools’ histories.

A total of 33 teams won their first MHSAA titles. A total of 46 champions were repeat winners from 2011-12 – and 23 of those won for at least the third straight season. The Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice boys lacrosse team has the longest title streak of nine seasons, while the Battle Creek St. Philip volleyball team has won six straight titles for the second-longest streak overall and longest among girls programs.

Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook-Kingswood claimed the most championships, four, winning in Division 2 boys lacrosse, Lower Peninsula Division 3 girls swimming and diving, Lower Peninsula Division 3 girls tennis and Division 3 ice hockey. Four schools won three titles apiece: Grand Rapids Christian, Grand Rapids South Christian, Marquette and St. Ignace LaSalle.

Sixteen of the MHSAA’s 28 championship tournaments are unified, involving teams from the Upper and Lower Peninsulas, while separate competition to determine titlists in both peninsulas is conducted in remaining sports.

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks