Mary Cross presents Niles High School's Gavin Croom with a Carlton Dungey Jr. Minority Scholarship Tuesday during the high school scholarship assembly. Leader photo/CRAIG HAUPERT
Mary Cross presents Niles High School's Gavin Croom with a Carlton Dungey Jr. Minority Scholarship Tuesday during the high school scholarship assembly. Leader photo/CRAIG HAUPERT

Archived Story

Niles High announces scholarship winners

Published 3:31pm Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Niles High School held its annual scholarship assembly Tuesday in the high school auditorium. Below is a list of scholarships and their recipients.

Niles Community Scholarships:

• Orville Coolidge — Taylor Hess

• Adastra Scholarship — Jessica Tejeda

• Sarley Family Scholarship — Kyle Mikel

• Mary Swan Scholarship — Meghan Phillips

• Baxter Memorial — Abigail Mattson

Carlton Dungey Jr. Minority Scholarship — Gavin Croom, Sierra Ellis, Ahlana Lawshea, Hannah Porterfield, Elizabeth Quaye, Priscilla Quaye, Kyra West

Jay Tyler Thomas Scholarship — Dillion Nutting

Clyde E Snyder Scholarship — Sarah Cramer, Aiyana Hagan

Niles High School Athletic Boosters Scholarship — Stuart Coulston, Elizabeth Hein

Barbara Ann Stone Scholarship — Paige Marie Chaffin and Alexandria Marie Fuller

Niles Buchanan Rotary Scholarship — Ashlynn Loenser

LaRue Messenger Post 26 Scholarship — Paige Lamb

Circle of Friends Scholarship — Larkin Carey, Sierra Ellis, Priscilla Quaye

Xi Alpha Delta Chapter Scholarship — Lindsay Cavanaugh, Kristen Clark, Brent McGowan

Miss Niles/Brandywine Scholarship — Alexandria Schoenleber

Mr. Niles/Mr. Blossomtime Scholarships — Stuart Coulston

Niles Downtown Development Scholarship — Eva Nemeth

Leo Kriziza and Esther Kriziza-Condry Scholarship Fund — Lindsay Cavanaugh, Sarah Cramer, Christopher Mangus, Mirna Sosa

Blaske–Hill Foundation Scholarship — Taylor Hess

Brian Parker Memorial Scholarship — Gavin Croom

Neil Moss Annual Drug Awareness Golf Scholarship — Abigail Mattson, Joshua Bell

Niles Noon Optimist Scholarship — Karen Bounds, Ashylnn Loenser, Priscilla Quaye

Niles Noon Optimist Soccer Scholarship — Emily Archer and Stuart Coulston

Andrew Wuthnow Niles High School Track Scholarship — Paige Chaffin

Niles District Education Association Scholarship — Kristen Clark, Elizabeth Hein, Erica Haimbaugh

Southwestern Michigan College Scholarships:

• Art Scholarship — Joshua Bell, Courtney Dumond, Karissa Loveall, Michael Mutchler

• Award of Excellence — Amanda Robertson, Jessica Tejeda

• Honors Award — Jorge De Leon Tejeda, Shelby Flanders, Karon Nicols, and Samantha Pompey

Lake Michigan College Scholarships:

• LMC Winner’s Circle — Kelsey Crago & Holly Lant

• LMC Board of Trustees Scholarship — Meghan Lahti, Holly Lant, Katherine VandenHeede, Kara Smith, Jacob Brentlinger

• LMC Presidential Scholars Award — Alexander Brown

George and Margaret Contois Scholarship — Elizabeth Hein

Niles Service League Scholarship — Gavin Croom, Hunter Benitez, Meghan Koglin, Larkin Carey, Sarah Lighthart, and Matthew Schiele

Jane Davis Health Careers Scholarship — Lindsay Cavanaugh, Ashlynn Loenser

Fay Frazee Nursing Scholarship — Mirna Sosa

Niles Haunted House Scholarships:       

• Lou Milley Memorial Scholarship — Alexandria Fuller

• Gottlieb Christ Memorial Scholarship — Jessica Lafler, Priscilla Quaye

Alpha Iota Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Scholarship in Memory of Ethlyn Flora — Paige Lamb

Virginia Heirmann Frucci Memorial Scholarship — Larkin Carey

Cass County Community Policing Scholarship — Victoria Toney

Abigail Watson Scholarship — Sierra Ellis, Ashlynn Loenser

Lakeland Auxillary Volunteer Scholarship — Aiya Jweihan, Gavin Croom

Patrick Curran Memorial Scholarship — Jerrid Burdue

Southeast Berrien County Landfill Authority — Hunter Benitez, Haley Helt, Jessica Lafler

Student Council Scholarship — Sarah Cramer, Stuart Coulston

Leslie Bookout Annual Scholarship for the Arts-Psi Iota XI — Cassidy Verhostra

Niles Soccer Scholarship — Ryan Casey

Jason Arnold Memorial Scholarship — Sarah Cramer

Brian Swiger Memorial Scholarship — Stuart Coulston

Kiwanis Club of Niles Scholarship — Elizabeth Hein, Alex Gamso, Priscilla Quaye, Elizabeth Quaye, Aiya Jweihan

Tem-Pace LLC Pacesetter Award — Alicia Coultas

Stephen N. Tyler Memorial Scholarship — Ashley Love & Matthew Schiele

Jeanne Griffin Memorial Scholarship — Paige Lamb

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks