Ryan Casey is one of four Niles wrestlers who won Division 2 district titles Saturday. (Leader photo/File)

Archived Story

Niles advances 11 to regionals

Published 4:14pm Sunday, February 10, 2013

STEVENSVILLE — The No. 3-ranked Niles wrestling team flexed its muscles at the Division 2 Individual Districts at Lakeshore High School Saturday.

The Vikings, who will compete in the Division 2 Team Regional Wednesday in Mattawan, advanced 11 wrestlers to Saturday’s individual regional at Eaton Rapids, including four champions.

Winning district titles were Casey Burandt (145), Fritzel Findeisen (152), Ryan Casey (189) and Derek Scott (285).

Burandt edged St. Joseph’s Connor Myers 10-8 in overtime. Burandt, who missed nearly a month of the season with a broken hand, improved to 25-1 on the season.

Findeisen (44-4) defended his district title by defeating Three Rivers’ Shawn Brew in the finals 11-7.

Casey improved to 47-0 with a pin of Coldwater’s Kegan Brown in 5:25. Casey picked up three more times and now is three shy of tying the school record of 50 set by Kenyon Ellison in 2008.

Scott pinned Three Rivers’ Dallas Recker in 3:40 to claim his first championship. Scott is now 39-7.

Also advancing to regionals for the Vikings were Brendon Meek (second) at 112, Nicholas Zimmerman (second) at 119, Darek Bullock Mills (second) at 125, Noah Hall (fourth) 135, Warren Smith (fourth) at 140, Jerricho Lamberton (fourth) at 160) and Alex Bata (fourth) at 215.


Division 2 Individual Wrestling

At Stevensville

Championship final

103: Michael Higley (Edwardsburg) m.d. over Brock Hoffman (Jackson Parma Western) 11-3; 112: Blain Dempsey (Mattawan) m.d. over Brendon Meek (Niles) 8-0; 119: Aaron Ward (Lakeshore) d. Nicholas Zimmerman (Niles) 3-0; 125: Patrick Blommel (Lakeshore) d. Darek Bullock-Mills (Niles) injury default; 130: Noah Hanau (Lakeshore) d. Kyle Kellogg (Gull Lake) 4-3; 135: Tanner Jewell (Jackson Parma Western) d. Michael Kempton; 140: Chad Hettinger (Vicksburg) d. Dustin Clapp (Lakeshore) 10-5; 145: Casey Burandt (Niles) d. Connor Myers (St. Joseph) 10-8 OT; 152: Fritzel Findeisen (Niles) d. Shawn Brew (Three Rivers) 11-7; 160: 160: J.P. McDougall (Lakeshore) d. Luke Mallery (Vicksburg) 4-0; 171: Brett Dempsey (Mattawan) t.f. over Trent Hullett (Jackson Parma Western) 17-2; 189: Ryan Casey (Niles) p. Kegan Brown (Coldwater) 5:25; 215: Sebastian Avello (Lakeshore) d. Leo Eggleston (Three Rivers) 7-5; 285: Derek Scott (Niles) p. Dallas Recker (Three Rivers) 3:40


Consolation final

103: Mitch Coon (Battle Creek Harper Creek) d. Brandon Arend (St. Joseph) 7-6; 112: Alejandro Soto (Sturgis) d. Dylan Dixon (Edwardsburg) 2-1; 119: Austin Dinzik (Vicksburg) p. Mohamed Alijabaly (Coldwater) 2:00; 125: Chase Veydt (Jackson Parma Western) p. Dustin Vires (Edwardsburg) 4:57; 130: Cameron Owens (Jackson Parma Western) p. Ricardo Soto (Sturgis) 2:59; 135: Kemps Miller (Gull Lake) d. Noah Hall (Niles); 140: Danny Rousseau (Edwardsburg) d. Warren Smith (Niles) 3-0; 145: Addison Jennette (Gull Lake) p. Luke Carver (Sturgis) 1:59; 152: Gunner Harrison (Lakeshore) m.d. over Dayland Bowser (Sturgis) 16-3; 160: Cody Cousins (Vicksburg) m.d.  over Jerricho Lamberton (Niles) 17-7; 171: Austin Siegel (Coldwater) m.d.  over Blake Parson (Edwardsburg) 16-6; 189: Alex Lyzewski (Mattawan) p. Terrance Spencer (Benton Harbor) :55; 215: Brady Hoffman (Jackson Parma Western) p. Alex Bata (Niles) 2:00; 285: Wade Stacey (Vicksburg) d. Seth Barnett (Edwardsburg) 6-2

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks