For the second straight year, Niles traveled to Edwardsburg and came home with the Division 2 Team District championship. (Leader photo/AMELIO RODRIGUEZ)

Archived Story

Vikings win back-to-back titles

Published 10:36pm Thursday, February 7, 2013

EDWARDSBURG — For the second straight year, the Niles wrestling team can call itself district champions.

But there is more work to do according to Vikings’ coach Todd Hesson if his team wants to get to where it wants to go — Battle Creek.

Niles, ranked No. 3 in the latest state rankings, had little trouble winning its second straight championship at Edwardsburg High School Thursday night.

In the semifinals, the Vikings dispatched Sturgis 54-14 before turning its attention to Edwardsburg, which defeated Three Rivers 60-24 to reach the title match.

Four pins and a major decision to start the championship match for Niles left little doubt as to who was taking home the hardware. When all was said and done, the Vikings defeated the Eddies 53-14.

Overall, Niles finished with six pins and two major decisions (four points) against Edwardsburg, which managed just a pair of major decisions.

Niles’ Casey Burandt returned to the line-up and pinned Sturgis’ Anthony Neal in 1:13. (Leader photo/AMELIO RODRIGUEZ)

Senior Fritzel Findeisen got the final match started with a pin of Jarrett Wood in 2:48 at 152 pounds and senior Casey Burandt ended the match by receiving a forfeit at 145.

“It’s nice, two in a row,” Niles coach Todd Hesson said. “Thirty-one wins, I never would have thought that. I thought some of our kids were a little flat against Sturgis. We wrestled better against Edwardsburg.

“But honestly, we need two more wins. That’s been the focus all year long. We realize that this was the first step in getting there, but we still have a lot of work to do in a week.”

The Vikings will now turn their attention to Mattawan and the Division 3 Team Regional Wednesday night.

Niles will face Jackson Parma Western, a 56-19 winner over Coldwater at the Marshall District Thursday night.

Vicksburg, a 42-27 winner over Mattawan, and Lakeshore, a 47-24 winner over St. Joseph will meet in the other semifinal.


Division 2




145: Casey Burandt (N) p. Anthony Neal, 1:13

152: Fritzel Findeisen (N) d. Dayland Bowser, 8-2

160: Jerrico Lamberton (N) d. William Fry, 6-4

171: Sean Craig (N) p. Cole Campbell, 0:40

189: Ryan Casey (N) p. Juan Espinoza, 3:12

215: Alex Bata (N) wins by forfeit

285: Derek Scott (N) d. Cole D’Haese, 5-4

103: Courtland Lamberton (N) wins by forfeit

112: Alejandro Soto (ST) wins by forfeit

119: Nicholas Zimmerman (N) d. Noah Gleason, 12-7

125: Darek Bullock-Mills (N) p. Dakota Smith,

130: Noah Hall (N) wins by forfeit

135: Nolan Tom d. Warren Smith, 9-7

140: Zach Mathews (ST) p. Kevin Reed, 3:22


Three Rivers…24


145: John Abel (TR) p. Josh House, 4:46

152: Dallas Todd (TR) p. Bo Thomas, 4:31

160: Jacob Herman (E) p. Matt Eldridge, 1:37

171: Blake Parsons (E) p. Bailey Miholer, 3:29

189: Brandon Parsons (E) p. Armani Hardin, 4:13

215: Leo Eggleston (TR) p. Joey Hamilton, 1:46

285: Seth Barnett (E) p. Dallas Recker, 2:47

103: Michael Higley (E) p. Nick Baldwin, 0:37

112: Hunter Vargo (E) p. James Arndt, 0:55

119: Andrew Vankirk (E) wins by forfeit

125: Dustin Vires (E) p. Mike Vidmar, 3:30

130: Derek Tulla (TR) p. Lucas Marks, 5:56

135: Michael Kempton (E) p. Connor McElroy, 1:35

140: Danny Rousseau (E) p. Andrew Bowers, 1:13





152: Fritzel Findeisen (N) p. Jarrett Wood, 2:48

160: Jerrico Lamberton (N) p. Jacob Herman, 5:18

171: Sean Craig (N) m.d. Blake Parsons, 17-5

189: Ryan Casey (N) p. Brandon Parsons, 1:12

215: Alex Bata (N) p. Joey Hamilton, 0:59

285: Seth Barnett (E) d. Travis Edwards, 3-1 OT

103: Michael Higley (E) m.d. Courtland Lamberton, 9-0

112: Brendan Meek (N) d. Hunter Vargo, 7-5

119: Nicholas Zimmerman (N) p. Andrew Vankirk, 1:00

125: Darek Bullock-Mills (N) p. Dustin Vires, 1:04

130: Noah Hall (N) m.d. Lucas Marks, 14-1

135: Michael Kempton (E) d. Warren Smith 5-0

140: Danny Roussea (E) m.d. Kevin Reed, 17-3

145: Casey Burandt (N) wins by forfeit


By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks