Ryan Casey, seen here in action from last Wednesday, improved to 39-0 by winning the 189-pound weight class Saturday. (Leader photo/File)

Archived Story

Niles wins second straight Greater Berrien County Meet

Published 10:11am Sunday, January 27, 2013

ST. JOSEPH — For the second straight year, the Niles wrestling team is champions of the Greater Berrien County Meet.

The Vikings made it look easy this year as it amassed 227 points. Lakeshore was second with 165 and Buchanan third with 156.

Edwardsburg finished fifth with 103 points, Dowagiac was 10th with 46.5 and a limited Brandywine squad was 12th with 40. Cassopolis finished 14th with 34 points.

Niles placed all 14 wrestlers, including four individual champions — Nicholas Zimmerman (119), Fritzel Findeisen (152), Sean Craig (171) and Ryan Casey (189).

For the undefeated Casey, it was his 39th win of the season and his 148th career victory, leaving him three shy of Ben Brandstatter’s team mark of 151.

Casey’s three pins tied him for first place at 76 with Kenyon Ellison.

Brandywine and Dowagiac each had one wrestler finish second.

Chanc Ravish was defeated by Jeff Mucha of Buchanan at 140 pounds, while Matt Lyle was defeated by Ty Hess at 135 points.


Greater Berrien County Meet

At St. Joseph

1. Niles 227; 2. Lakeshore 165; 3. Buchanan 156; 4. Lawton 130; 5. Edwardsburg 103; 6. St. Joseph 87.5; 7. Covert 87; 8. Berrien Springs 82.5; 9. Watervliet; 10. Dowagiac 46.5; 11. River Valley 41; 12. Brandywine 40; 13. Coloma 39; 14. Cassopolis 34; 15. Benton Harbor 1


Championship Round

103: Julian Torres (Lawton) p. David Melendez (Berrien Springs) 4:25; 112: Kyle Barkovich (Lawrton) p. Pat Lynch (Watervliet) 2:56; 119: Nicholas Zimmerman (Niles) d. Aaron Ward (Lakeshore) 5-3 OT; 125: Patrick Blommel (Lakeshore) d. Darek-Bullock Mills (Niles) 11-4; 130: Noah Hanau (Lakeshore) d. Brock Thumm (Watervliet) injury default; 135: Ty Hess (Coloma) p. Matt Lyle (Dowagiac) 2:55; 140: Jeff Mucha (Buchanan) d. Chanc Ravish (Brandywine) 5-2; 145: Connor Myers (St. Joseph) t.f. over Anthony Miller (St. Joseph) 25-8; 152: Fritzel Findeisen (Niles) d. over Gunner Harrison (Lakeshore) 13-4; 160: J.P. McDougall (Lakeshore) d. Dominque Eddie (St. Joseph) 4-2; 171: Sean Craig (Niles) d. Weston DeHaven (Watervliet) 10-8; 189: Ryan Casey (Niles) p. Dorreon Gaines (Covert) 5:34; 215: Mario Aburto (Covert) d. Jimmy DeVlaminck 2-1 OT; 285: Gage Hutchison (Buchanan) p. Derek Scott (Niles) 1:00


Consolation Round

103: Michael Higley (Edwardsburg) p. Jesse Lochmondy (Brandywine) 4:20; 112: Brenden Meek (Niles) d. Matt Strozewski (Buchanan) 6-2; 119: Khalil Brown (Cassopolis) d. over Marcus Rodriguez (Watervliet) 14-5; 125: Armando Cortez (Covert) t.f. over Dustin Vires (Edwardsburg) 17-1; 130: Cole Menck (Lawton) d. Noah Hall (Niles) 1-0; 135: Paul Lochmondy (Brandywine) pinned Travis Smith (Lawton) 3:54; 140: Dustin Clapp (Lakeshore) d. Danny Rousseau (Edwardsburg) 6-2; 145: Patrick Wheetley (Buchanan) d. Cody Burkhard (Buchanan) injury default; 152: Brody Conner (Lawton) d. Alex Brown (Buchanan) 2-0; 160: Jerrico Lamberton (Niles) d.Hunter Liberty (River Valley) 8-6; 171; Mike Fowler (Lakeshore) d. Blake Parsons (Edwardsburg) 4-2; 189: Joe Monica (Brandywine) d. Tymari Brown (Cassopolis) 6-3; 215: Ethan Rogers (Berrien Springs) p. Sebastian Avello (Lakeshore) 3:22; 285: Seth Barnett (Edwardsburg) p. Tristian Howard (Dowagiac) 2:43

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks