Niles’ Ryan Casey goes for a pin against Benton Harbor Wednesday. The Vikings swept the Tigers and St. Joseph in a Big 16 West Quad meet. (Leader photo/SCOTT NOVAK)

Archived Story

Viking grapplers roll

Published 11:16pm Wednesday, December 12, 2012

A lot of people are looking at Niles as the team to beat in the Big 16 West Division.

The results of Wednesday’s home opener aren’t going to change anyone’s mind.

The Vikings steamrolled Benton Harbor 84-0 and then dismantled St. Joseph 57-7.

The lopsided wins were nice, but veteran Nile coach Todd Hesson says his team has some work to do.

“We wrestled well, but we still have a lot of work,” Hesson said. “We wrestled good and bad. They do wrestle hard for six minutes, we just have a lot of little things to work on. We still have to get all our pieces in place. We still have some kids trying to get down to their weight, but overall it was a good night.”

Picking up two wins on the night for the Vikings were Brendon Meek (112), Nicholas Zimmerman (119), Josh Dayhuff (125), Kevin Reed (140), Casey Burandt (145), Fritzel Findeisen (152), Sean Craig (171), Ryan Casey (189) and Derek Scott (285).

Hesson declined to say that he feels like the front-runner in the West Division.

“Lakeshore is the team to beat because they are the defending champs,” he said. “Until we get to that point we will wait and see.”

The Vikings will have to wait until Jan. 23 when the Lancers come to town for a key West Division showdown.


Benton Harbor…0


103: Courtland Lamberton (N) wins by forfeit

112: Brendon Meek (N) wins by forfeit

119: Nicholas Zimmerman (N) wins by forfeit

125: Josh Dayhuff (N) p. Taleel McNeal, 1:33

130: Noah Hall (N) p. Jayime Campbell 3:34

135: Warren Smith (N) p. Floyd Erby, 5:27

140: Kevin Reed (N) p. Demario Newhern, 0:49

145: Casey Burandt (N) p. Jerome McDuffie, 0:42

152: Fritzel Findeisen (N) p. Shaquille Birtha, 3:05

160: Daniel Sierra (N) p. Anthony Sanders, 2:50

171: Sean Craig (N) p. Demarcus Rainer, 2:27

189: Ryan Casey (N) p. Tyron Hurtt, 1:04

215: Ted Jackowiak (N) wins by forfeit

285: Derek Scott (N) p. Malcolm Lewis, 0:57


St. Joseph…7


103: Brendan Arend (SJ) d. Courtland Lamberton, 10-2

112: Brendon Meek (N) d. Auston Hodder, 13-5

119: Nicholas Zimmerman (N) wins by forfeit

125: Josh Dayhuff (N) p. Joe St. Amand, 2:34

130: Darek Mills (N) d. Tim Cluff, 10-7

135: Terrill Wilburn (SJ) d. Warren Smith, 8-6

140: Kevin Reed (N) p. Sean Akins, 1:02

145: Casey Burandt (N) d. Conner Myers, 5-0

152: Fritzel Findeisen (N) t.f. Cody Kelly, 25-10

160: Jerricho Lamberton (N) d. d. Dominique Eddy, 11-7

171: Sean Craig (N) d. David Blatschke, 8-2

189: Ryan Casey (N) p. Austyn Lockwitz, 1:09

215: Alex Bata (N) wins by forfeit

285: Derek Scott (N) wins by forfeit

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks