Archived Story

Commissioner elected supervisor

Published 5:47pm Wednesday, August 8, 2012

Howard Township Supervisor Ron Fazi was unseated in Tuesday’s Republican primary by Cass County Commissioner Dale Lowe, 211-258.

“I’ve had a great time with the commissioners, but I’ve been thinking about it for a long time,” Lowe said Wednesday morning.

A former township trustee, he made his mind up in May after two stints on the county board, with Democrat Debbie Johnson in between.

Had he sought re-election in Cassopolis, Lowe would have been in the same district as fellow Republican Robert Ziliak of Milton Township and another former chairman, Howard Township Democrat Johnie Rodebush.

For treasurer, Maureen Johnson (108) won the Democratic nomination over Jan Gordon (73) to face Republican Linda Rudlaff (374) in the Nov. 6 general election.

The four Republicans nominated for trustee against Democrat Hank Johnson (154) are Irving Frost Jr., 306; David Lee Brawley, 305; Craig Bradfield, 277; and Bruno Eidietis, 248.

For park commissioner, Democrats nominated Michael E. Gordon over James R. Bergerson and Paulleen D. Washington to face GOP nominee Judy Bedell-Deutscher.

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks