Archived Story

County board shrinking

Published 6:59pm Thursday, August 2, 2012

With post-census redistricting shrinking the Cass County Board of Commissioners back to seven from 15, incumbents in five new districts face primary fights to keep their positions in 2013.
Republican incumbents Dixie Ann File and Ronald Francis square off in District 2, with the victor facing longtime Marcellus councilman Burke H. Webb.
Republican incumbents Gordon Bickel Sr. of Porter Township and Dwight W. “Skip” Dyes of Calvin Township vie in District 3.
District 4 Edwardsburg Republicans Carl D. Higley Sr. and Roseann Marchetti meet Tuesday, with the nominee contending with David Taylor.
In District 5, former chairman Robert L. Ziliak of Milton Township must get past Shaune Leet Timm of Howard Township to face Democratic incumbent Johnie A. Rodebush.
Republican Bernie Williamson meets Democrat Kevin Harris this fall in District 6.
Republican Prosecutor Victor Fitz, Sheriff Joseph Underwood and Surveyor Roger Stephenson are unopposed for re-election.
Three other Republicans will see fall challenges. With Clerk-Register Barbara Runyon not seeking re-election, First Deputy Monica Kennedy meets Democrat Ingrid Gschwind and Treasurer Linda Irwin takes on Anita Studer. Republican Water Resources Commissioner Bruce Campbell’s Democratic challenger is Tony Catanzarite.
In Milton Township, Republican Sue Kronewitter, deputy clerk, is running against Larry Neumann for the open clerk’s seat.
GOP Treasurer Linda DeBroka wants to retain her post against Susan Flowers.

Editor's Picks