Helmet law already in effectPublished 5:59pm Thursday, April 26, 2012
I have had recent conversations with citizens about the Helmet Repeal Law. I have been asked why it was passed. Repealing the state’s mandatory helmet law was a public policy decision approved by the Michigan Legislature with bipartisan support, and the Michigan State Police remained neutral throughout the legislative process.
Public Act 98 of 2012 took immediate effect. This act states that motorcycle riders no longer have to wear an MDOT approved crash helmet if all of the following apply: The operator is at least 21 years of age, the operator has had his/her motorcycle endorsement for at least two years or has successfully passed a motorcycle safety course, and the operator has in effect a security for the first-party medical benefits payable if he/she is involved in a motorcycle crash for at least $20,000 for the operator or $20,000 per person is the operator is carrying an additional passenger and the passenger does not have at least $20,000 security.
The motorcycle passenger is not required to wear an MDOT approved crash helmet if all of the following apply: The passenger is at least 21 years old, the passenger has in effect at least a $20,000 security for the first-party medical benefits payable if he/she is involved in a motorcycle crash or the operator of the motorcycle has in effect a security that covers the operator and the passenger for at least $20,000.
Michigan is the 31st state to give motorcyclists the option of wearing a helmet. Michigan originally implemented its helmet-use law in 1967 to comply with U.S. Department of Transportation requirements for federal funds. That requirement is no longer in place.
Safety for children
I would also like to remind caregivers the current “best practice” for child passenger safety seats is for children to ride rear facing up to the age of 2 years old. The better manufacturing of the seats now have a rating of up to 35 pounds rear facing.
Saturday is the National DEA Drug Take Back Day. Please call local law enforcement for times and locations of drop-off sites, which are open 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. These sites have a drop box to turn in unused or expired medication for safe disposal. Michigan sites cannot accept liquid or patch medication due to disposal regulations.
Tags: Ask Trooper Rob