Niles senior Matthew McLaughlin was one of three Vikings named All-West Division. (Daily Star Photo/File)

Archived Story

Viking trio earn honors

Published 3:00pm Friday, March 30, 2012

Big 16 Conference West Division co-champion Lakeshore, which reached the Class B state finals before falling to defending champion Lansing Sexton last weekend, dominated the boys basketball squad.

Austin Parks

Loren Johnson was voted honorary captain by the coaches. He was joined by Lancer teammates Ryan Avery, Austin Kaiser and Harold Wiggins.

Niles, which shared the division title with Lakeshore, had three players named to the All-West Division team — Myles Busby, Matthew McLaughlin and Austin Parks.

Big 16 Conference

All-West Division

• Loren Johnson, Lakeshore

Myles Busby, Niles

Zach Cornish, Mattawan

Matthew McLaughlin, Niles

Austin Parks, Niles

Von Washington III, Kalamazoo Central

Myles Busby

Ryan Avery, Lakeshore

Austin Kaiser, Lakeshore

Deontae Whitfield, Benton Harbor

H’Ian Hale, Kalamazoo Central

Josh Schaffer, St. Joseph

Mike Dyson, Benton Harbor

Thomas Hoff, Mattawan

Roy Napier, Benton Harbor

Adam Vizard, Portage Northern

Harold Wiggins, Lakeshore

• Honorary captain

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks