Sex offenders must verify addressPublished 7:06pm Monday, March 26, 2012
The Michigan State Police (MSP) reminds registered Tier 3 sex offenders the 15-day address verification begins April 1.
During this period, state law requires all Tier 3 registered offenders to report in person to their local law enforcement agency, sheriff’s office or nearest MSP post to verify their address.
The Michigan Sex Offenders Registration Act requires Tier 1 offenders to verify their address annually, during the first 15 days of January.
Tier 2 offenders must verify their address semi-annually, during the first 15 days of January and July.
Tier 3 offenders must verify their address quarterly, during the first 15 days of January, April, July and October.
Failure to do so carries a penalty of up to two years of incarceration.