Dowagiac’s Matt Lyle works to turn Berrien Springs’ Chris Rodgers during the Division 3 Team District Wrestling Tournament semifinals Thursday night. The Chieftains were defeated by the Shamrocks 42-33. (Daily News Photo/SCOTT NOVAK)

Archived Story

Chieftains fall to Shamrocks

Published 9:05pm Thursday, February 9, 2012

BERRIEN SPRINGS — A season of what might have been has ended for the Dowagiac wrestling team.

The Chieftains were eliminated by Berrien Springs in the semifinals of the Division 3 Team Tournament Thursday night, 42-33.

Dowagiac will send a few wrestlers on to the individual state tournament beginning Saturday, but as far as the team competition goes, the season ended on a high note according to Chieftain coach Matt Alward.

Dowagiac gave up four forfeits to the Shamrocks Thursday night and that proved to be the difference. It’s been the same story line for the Chieftains all season long.

With only one senior in the lineup and three juniors, Dowagiac is forced to put freshmen and sophomores out in the other 10 weight classes.

While they have shown steady improvement throughout the season, it’s been a struggle to win matches.

In the seven actual matches that were wrestled against Berrien Springs, the Chieftains won five of them.

“That’s been a lot of the dual meets we’ve had this year,” Dowagiac coach Matt Alward said. “We’ve had some wholes in the lineup due to a variety of things. I’ve been extremely impressed and proud of the way that the way the young men that finished the season worked all year.

“They are going to continue to get better. I can’t even put into words how much they have progressed from the first day they came into the wrestling room day one. It’s been amazing to watch them. We have a bright future. If these kids put in the time in the off season — the weight room program, our open mats, going to some camps — next year and the following year as we continue to build with the middle school program the sky is the limit. I think we can get back to where I believe Dowagiac should and will be. It’s going to take some time.”

Tom Smith got the semifinals started with a hard-fought 7-5 victory over the Shamrocks’ Jacob Peasley.

After falling at 160, Dowagiac senior Daniel Crandall defeated Levi Davis 7-1.

After picking up a forfeit at 189, Berrien Springs got back-to-back pins from Arlandon Lopez at 215 and Nick Daley at 285.

Two more forfeits went up on the Shamrocks’ side of the scoreboard before action returned to the mat at 119-pounds.

The Chieftains’ Jacob Worthington, who returned to the lineup after missing Saturday’s conference tournament with a knee injury, pinned Cameron McCray in just 27 seconds.

Following another forfeit win for Berrien Springs, Matt Lyle defeated Chris Rodgers 7-5 at 130-pounds.

Caleb Zimmerman and Caleb Sands picked up back-to-back forfeits for the Chieftains at the next two weight classes.

Aubrey Huston wrestled in the final match of the semifinals and pinned Berrien Springs’ Thomas Teed in 1:12.

Buchanan won the other semifinal match against Bridgman-New Buffalo 67-6.

The Bucks then went on to defend their Division 3 championship with a win over Berrien Springs in the finals.

Division 3 Team Wrestling

At Berrien Springs




103: Bryce Albers (BS) wins by forfeit

112: Jesse Cleveland (BS) wins by forfeit

119: Jacob Worthington (D) p. Cameron McCray, 0:27

125: Yvonne Wells (BS) wins by forfeit

130: Matt Lyle (D) d. Chris Rodgers, 7-5

135: Caleb Zimmeran (D) wins by forfeit

140: Caleb Sands (D) wins by forfeit

145: Aubrey Huston (D) p. Thomas Teed, 1:12

152: Tom Smith (D) d. Jacob Peasley, 7-5

160: Corey Leach (BS) p. John Lindemuller, 1:22

171: Daniel Crandall (D) d. Levi Davis, 7-1

189: Ethan Rogers (BS) wins by forfeit

215: Arlando Lopez (BS) p. Xavier Marquart, 3:23

285: Nick Daily (BS) wins by forfeit

Bridgman/New Buffalo…6


103: Double void

112: John Johnson (BU) d. Jarrett Anderson, 7-6

119: Colin Wheetley (BU) d. Chris Rotondo, 10-1

125: Jacob Hurd (BU) p. David Lenardson, 0:57

130: Alex Eger (BU) wins by forfeit

135: Jeff Mucha (BU) wins by forfeit

140: Dylan Williamson (BU) wins by forfeit

145: Patrick Wheetley (BU) wins by forfeit

152: Alex Brown (BU) p. Toby Smith, 0:38

160: Cody Burkhard (BU) p. Alex Pratt, 2:17

171: Travis Johnson (BU) p. John Tarnowski, 5:34

189: Josh Long (B-NB) p. Dan Risener, 3:44

215: Gage Hutchison (BU) wins by forfeit

285: Jim DeVlaminck (BU) p. Rich Nekvasil, 1:39

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks