Dowagiac’s Carl Grant returned to the lineup Wednesday night and picked up a pair of victories as the Chieftains were defeated by host Otsego and Plainwell. (Daily News Photo/File)

Archived Story

Dowagiac grapplers drop pair

Published 10:10pm Wednesday, January 25, 2012

OTSEGO — The Dowagiac wrestling team hit the road for a pair of Wolverine Conference matches Wednesday night and returned home 0-2.

The Chieftains wrestled well in both matches, but were defeated by the host Bulldogs 58-20 and by Plainwell 46-34.

“We should have beat them (Plainwell),” Dowagiac coach Matt Alward said. “We had a couple of guys that got caught and stuck. It came down to they had pins and we didn’t. I would have liked to have gotten them, but it wasn’t in the cards.”

Picking up two wins on the night were Jacob Worthington (119), Matt Lyle (130), Carl Grant (215) and Tristan Howard (285). Lyle defeated top 10-ranked Johnny Johnson of Otsego, while Grant returned to the lineup after missing two matches and a tournament last week due to injury.

“In our first match we wrestled them very well. A great win for Matt. That is really going to help him with the seedings for the conference and districts.

Alward noted that the JV team had a solid performance, winning more matches than it lost against Otsego.

“I was really happy with our JV kids tonight,” he said.



103: Holden Dunklee (O) p. Spencer Calley, 4:59

112: Matt Thaver (O) wins forfeit

119: Jacob Worthington t.f. Brandon Watson, 15-0

125: Kyle McQueer (O) p. Tyler Cross, 2:58

130: Matt Lyle (D) d. Johnny Johnson, 6-3 ranked 7th in the state

135: Alberto Lopez (O) wins by forfeit

140: Hagan Brown (O) d. Aubrey Huston, 9-0

145: Eric Dennis (O) wins by forfeit

152: Logan Brumley (O) p. Tom Smith, 0:53

160: Logan Keyzer (O) p. Daniel Crandall, 2:49

171: Cory Livingston wins by forfeit

189: Andrew Laylon wins by forfeit

215: Carl Grant (D) p. Hikaru Ukita, 3:15

285: Tristan Howard (D) p. Giacomo Lomonaco, 0:44



103: James Babbitt (P) p. Spencer Calley, 4:34

112: D.J. Bishop (P) wins by forfeit

119: Jacob Worthington (D) wins by forfeit

125: Tyler Cross (D) wins by forfeit

130: Matt Lyle (D) d. Brennan Meert, 9-0

135: Kyle Knight (P) p. Caleb Sandz, 2:41

140: Damien Maddix (P) d. Anthony Daisey, 13-5 (3 OT)

145: Treston Bradshaw (P) p. Aubrey Huston, 2:32

152: Ryan McFanin (P) p. Tom Smith, 0:47

160: Daniel Crandall (D) p. Eric Ross, 1:24

171: Jacob Brinkman (P) p. Nick Lindemuler, 1:17

189: Dru Snyder (P) wins by forfeit

215: Carl Grant (D) wins by forfeit

285: Tristan Howard (D) p. Joey Vandenberg, 2:12

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks