Archived Story

Rangers capture Shamrock Invitational

Published 5:49pm Monday, January 16, 2012

BERRIEN SPRINGS — The Cassopolis wrestling team edged Penn 152-150.5 to captured the Shamrock Invitational Saturday at Berrien Springs.

The Rangers had four individual champions and placed nine wrestlers in the top four.

Earning individual titles for Cassopolis were Khalil Brown (112), Shauntrell Gilliam (125), Tyler Butrick (130) and Dominic Forbes (189).

Finishing third were Raymond Vickery (135), Jesse Richey (140), David Sopaseuth (145) and Ian Montgomery (171). Zack Newton finished fourth (160).

Shamrock Invitational

At Berrien Springs

Team scores

1. Cassopolis 153, 2. Penn 150.5, 3. Berrien Springs 129, 4. Hartford 125.5, 5. Decatur B 109, 6. Fennville 86, 7. Bridgman 39

Championship round

103: Bryce Albers (BS) p. Bailey Caron (D) :45

112: Khalil Brown (C) p. Jesse Cleveland (BS) 1:12

119: Chris Rotondo (B) d. Ryan Gillette (F) 3-0

125: Shauntrell Gilliam (C) p. Johnie Boone (BS) 3:12

125: Tyler Butrick (C) md. Josh Archer (H) 16-2

130: Gabe Anastasio (P) d. Bert Saldana (H) 10-6

135: Joe Boyer (P) p. Miguel Melgoza (H) 3:26

140: Dominic Ledesma (H) d. Dalton Dodge (P) 8-6

152: Matt Wricks (P) md. Kyle Nye (D) 13-4

160: Conner Marsh (P) p. Jhony Almanza (F) 3:13

171: Nathan Gerhold (D) d. Jacinto Arreola (BS) 3-1 OT

189: Dominic Forbes (C) p. Mitch Meersman (P) 3:54

215: Arlando Lopez (BS) d. Adan Barajas (H) 6-4 OT

285: Nick Daily (BS) p. Donovan Benavides (D) 1:45
Outstanding wrestler

Conner Marsh (P)

Edwardsburg vs. Cassopolis

COLOMA —The Cassoopolis wrestling team was defeated by rival Edwardsburg 51-13.

Winning matches for the Rangers were Brown, Butrick and Montgomery.


Cassopolis… 13

103: Double void

112: Khalil Brown (C) d. Dylan Dixon, 8-4

119: Dustin Vires (E) wins by forfeit

125: Michael Borden (E) d. Shauntrell Gilliam, 7-3

130: Tyler Butrick (C) d. Devon McGrath, 13-3

135: T.J. Vanderheyder (E) wins by forfeit

140: Michael Kempton (E) p. Jesse Richey, 3:06

145: Blake King (E) p. David Sopasenth, 0:29

152: Michael Hunsburger (E) wins by forfeit

160: Lee Williamson (E) wins by forfeit

171: Ian Montgomery (C) d. Garrett Hunsburger, 14-9

189: Bradley Brasfield (E) d. Dominic Forbes, 5-3

215: Col Hunsburger (E) wins by forfeit

285: Travis Myrick (E) wins by forfeit

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks