Archived Story

Proos, Upton likely winners at presstime

Published 10:59pm Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Tuesday was a big day for the future of local and Michigan government with key primary elections. In the governor race, Virg Bernero easily knocked off Andy Dillon to earn the Democratic nomination.

In the Republican race, Rick Snyder held a strong lead at press time with 37 percent of the vote at press time with Pete Hoekstra in a distant second with 26 percent.

Facing competition for the first time in eight years, 12-term incumbent Fred Upton looked to be on his way to winning the Republican primary for the District 6 U.S. representative seat. He led Kalamazoo challenger Jack Hoogendyk with 57 percent of the vote with 66 percent of precincts reporting at press time.

In the 21st District state senator race, John Proos earned a decisive victory over Niles resident and former Indiana State Trooper Todd Griffee. He held a 75 percent to 25 percent advantage with 76 percent of precincts reporting at press time.

Here are all the results of Tuesday’s elections as of press time:



Rick Snyder 37 percent

Pete Hoekstra 25 percent

Mike Cox 25 percent

Mike Bouchard 11 percent

Tom George 2 percent


Virg Bernero 59 percent

Andy Dillon 41 percent

U.S. Representative 6th District


Fred Upton (St. Joseph) 57 percent

Jack Hoogendyk (Kalamazoo) 43 percent

State Senator 21st District


John Proos (St. Joseph) 75 percent

Todd Griffee (Niles) 25 percent

Niles Charter Twp. Precinct Delegate 1


Jo Ann Flock 103

William Cramer 100

Jack Flock 97

Niles Charter Twp. Precinct Delegate 3


Todd Griffee 109

James Ringler 98

Michele Wilson 96

Roger Barr 87

Winifred Barr 66


Anne Casto 46

Gerry Thielmann 44

Dennis Casto 37

Toni Casto 34

Niles Charter Twp. Precinct Delegate 4


Debra Ringler 56

Michael Ringler 50

City of Niles Dial-A-Ride Proposal

Yes 467

No 261

Niles City Precinct Delegate 2


Lisa Bassett 103

Martin Klubeck 87

Niles City Precinct Delegate 3


Linda Casperson 54

Patricia McGowen 44

Denee Anglin 26

Niles City Precinct Delegate 4


Bob Nightingale 166

Emily Perkins 163

Zach Perkins 152


Joy Ann Rolston 56

Misty LaViolette 45

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks