The Cass County Republicans honored Patricia LaBre in Edwardsburg. (Vigilant photo/JOHN EBY)
The Cass County Republicans honored Patricia LaBre in Edwardsburg. (Vigilant photo/JOHN EBY)

Archived Story

County Republicans honor LaBre at Lincoln Day dinner

Published 1:14pm Thursday, March 11, 2010

Cassopolis Vigilant

EDWARDSBURG – Cass County Republicans inducted Patricia LaBre as a “Diamond” for her “outstanding job” on behalf of the GOP at their Lincoln Day dinner Saturday night.

County Commissioner Carl Higley Sr., longest-serving member of the Board of Commissioners and chairman of the Diamond Club Committee, presented LaBre, wife of county Republican chairman William L. LaBre, J.D., with a clock.

Republican meetings on the fourth Tuesday of the month in the Kincheloe Room of the 1899 courthouse are open to the public.

Diamonds bestowed since 1996 also include the late Louise Cox, Vice Chair Margaret Stanley, who organized the dinner at American Legion Post 365, Ann Simmons, Ardith Higley, Dale Blunier, Bill LaBre, Bernie Williamson, Gerald Ostrowski, County Treasurer Linda Irwin, Sheriff Joe Underwood and Prosecutor Victor Fitz.

“It’s quite an honor for something I believe in,” said LaBre, who thought she would be taking pictures.

“Diamonds are forever, hard and strong,” Bill LaBre praised Commissioner Higley.
Guests included: Oakland County Sheriff Mike Bouchard, governor candidate; Senate Majority Leader Mike Bishop, Attorney General candidate; former state representative Rick Shaffer, St. Joseph County Republican chairman; Mike Garey, Berrien County Republican chairman and St. Joseph mayor pro tem; state Sen. Cameron S. Brown, a former Cass County representative now seeking Secretary of State; Rep. Paul Scott, Secretary of State candidate from Flint; state Sen. Tom George, M.D., governor candidate; Michigan State University Board of Trustees candidate Brian Breslin, who has fond memories of Dowagiac’s Edgar Wilson; state Rep. John Proos of St. Joseph, a candidate for the Senate seat of term-limited Ron Jelinek; Cass County Board of Commissioners candidates Skip Dyes, for Bill Steele’s District 4 seat, and Roseanne Marchetti, for David Taylor’s District 7 seat; former commissioner Dale Lowe, seeking to regain the District 14 seat from Debbie Johnson; Circuit Judge Michael E. Dodge, who has been on the bench for 33 years and is seeking re-election; Family Court Judge Susan Dobrich; District Judge Stacey Rentfrow, “who has grown into the job faster than any other person I’ve seen elected,” according to Chairman LaBre; retired District Judge Paul Deats; Bill Schuette’s campaign manager, Rusty Hills, former Michigan Republican Party chairman; Clerk-Register Barb Runyon; County Treasurer Linda Irwin; Sheriff Joe Underwood; County Commissioner Robert Wagel, former chairman and Jelinek’s district representative; Commissioner Ed Goodman, a former Democrat who switched parties; Commissioner Gordon Bickel; Vice Chairman Ron Francis; and Water Resources Commissioner Bruce Campbell.

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks