Archived Story

Niles trio earns All-division kudos

Published 9:58am Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Niles Daily Star

A trio of Niles cross country runners earned Big 16 Conference All-West Division runners this season.

Finishing in the top 10 of the division were Mark Calhoun, Sam VandenHeede and Anthony Horvath.

Also on the All-Division team were St. Joseph’s Sam Felton, Collin Ludwig, Chris Phaler, David Burkhard and Joe Beemer.

Mattawan’s Gavin Fisher and Michael Ulrich rounded out the top 10.

Calhoun and VandenHeede also earned All-League honors.

Also on the All-League squad were Alex Standiford and Thomas Meeker of Mattawan; Joe Billian and Andrew Darrell of Kalamazoo Loy Norrix; Ludwig, Felton and Phaler of St. Joe; and Alex Waldvogel and Zach Warner of Portage Central.

Sturgis landed Kam Mills, Matt Huff, Thomas Griffith, Jay Marshall and Josh Swett on the squad, while Kalamazoo Central’s Jordan Henning and CJ Lee were also members of the team.

Rounding out the squad were Adrian Warga-Kane of Portage Northern, Joe Wheatly of Marshall and Josh Holicki of Coldwater.

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks