Archived Story

Lyons re-elected, E-911 passes

Published 10:20am Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Dowagiac Daily News

Dowagiac voters rewarded Mayor Donald D. Lyons with a fourth four-year term Tuesday while Cass County’s electorate passed a fifth of a mill for E-911 emergency telephone service.

An E-911 levy for five years, Dec. 1, 2009-Dec. 1, 2013, which would generate $364,588 the first year, was approved 1,783 yes to 1,385 no with 2.02 percent of the county’ 38,344 registered voters deciding the issue.

E-911 lost in Dowagiac’s First Ward, 46-51.

Lyons, mayor since 1997, outpolled newcomer Scott E. Wreggitt, 27, 285 votes to 156, including 64-37 in First Ward, 151-72 in Second Ward and 70-47 in Third Ward.

In other non-partisan city races, unopposed incumbents Treasurer Robin Coffey tallied 429 ballots; First Ward Councilwoman Lori Hunt, 90; Second Ward Councilman Bob B. Schuur, 218; and Third Ward Councilman Leon Laylin, 107.

While Decatur’s school bond proposal won, 61 yes to 42 no, and Newberg Township’s fire/EMS millage was renewed, 104 yes to 39 no, Constantine’s school operating millage lost, 84 yes to 234 no.

This three-mill proposal for seven years, 2009-2015, meant $105,101 to the district had it been approved and collected in 2009.

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks