Archived Story

President’s chair returns to Mallo

Published 5:17pm Thursday, October 1, 2009

Dowagiac Daily News

Though Richard Lee was declared the new Cassopolis Village President in the Sept. 15 village election, incumbent Clare Mallo was sworn in on Thursday, Oct. 1.

The 288 votes cast were not in question, as the totals did not change after the Board of Canvassers completed their work.

Richard Lee, who served as village president in the 1990s and also previously as a trustee, had beat Mallo by 15 votes.

It was found though, Lee had village taxes which were unpaid from 2008.

According to the law, Village Clerk Judy Hartman said, "they should have been paid no later than the last day of February, 2008."

She has sent Lee a notice by registered letter, but has not heard back from him.

Village manager Kevin Gillette was unable to be reached for comment.

Mallo will be president for a two-year term, until the next regularly scheduled election, according to Hartman, in September 2011.

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks