Archived Story

Richard Lee new village president

Published 12:48pm Thursday, September 17, 2009

Cassopolis Vigilant

A total of 288 voters cast ballot in the Village of Cassopolis election Tuesday, which saw a new village president elected.

Richard Lee, who served as village president in the 1990s and also previously as a trustee, beat incumbent Clare Mallo by 15 votes.

This is a two-year term.

Additional offices up for election were three village trustee positions, each with a four-year term.

Returning to their seats on the board as trustees are Brittney Page Beauchamp and Leon Eugene Gilliam, who received 144 and 156 votes respectively.

Newcomer to the board is Dianna K. McGrew, who received 139 votes. McGrew has served on the village’s planning commission since 1993.

William J. Bruneau, pastor of Penn Friends Church, has been serving on the council, after being appointed to finish a term, received 132 votes.

Ray Strome received 118.

Write-in candidate, Cynthia Ash received 39 votes.

By using this website’s user-contribution features, including comments, photo galleries, or any other feature, you agree to abide by the terms of use. Please read this agreement in its entirety because it contains useful information that will help you better understand the rules and general "good manners" that are expected when contributing content to this website.

Editor's Picks